top of page


The Tyrrell Historical Library Association, Inc. (THLA) was formed in 1987 by twenty-four individuals who desired to see the Tyrrell Historical Library flourish as a flagship facility in Southeast Texas.

If it had not been for the THLA the Library would not exist.  The Association became a legal partner of the City of Beaumont in obtaining financing for the restoration of the historic Library.  The Association paid $250,000 of the restoration cost.  In 2010, the Association purchased state of the art museum collection software for the Library (Content DM).  In 2011 and 2012, the Association again purchased significant major collections hardware, software, and manpower, thus facilitating access to the library archives by the Internet, and allowing for systematic digitization of the library archives moving into the future.

Mission Statement:

The Tyrrell Historical Library Association, Inc. supports the restoration of the Tyrrell Historical Library, promotes the development of its collections, and encourages the use and enjoyment of the Library by the public for research and education.

2019 Mar 17 097.JPG

Board of Directors


President Tina M. Kibbe

President-Elect  Kate Hambright

Vice President Carol Flatten 

Recording Secretary Christina Wilbur

Corresponding Secretary Jennifer Trenbeath

Treasurer Jan Droptini

Past President Carol Gary 


Jan Droptini

Carol Flatten

Kate Hambright

Bruce Hamilton

Charlotte Hollliman

Brenda Jackson

Tina M. Kibbe

Lyndia King 

Steven Lewis

Don Smart 

Jennifer Trenbeath

Christina Wilbur

Ben Woodhead


Linda Cooper

Joan Hataway

Judy Linsley 

Dora Nisby

Robert Robertson 

Carolyn Modica


Director of Libraries, Paul Eddy 

Tyrrell Branch Manager, William Grace

Edgar, Kiker, and Cross, Charlotte Yeates

Past Presidents

Yvonne Osborne Moor 1987-1988

Robert Robertson 1989

Mildred Hall 1990

Mildred Yates 1991

Tony Gabrielle 1992-1993

Bill Faucett 1993-1994

Howard Bundy 1995-1996

Betty Leaf 1997-1998

Joan Hataway 1999-2000

J. Earl Brickhouse 2001-2002

Andrew Johnson 2003

James Broussard 2004

Naaman Woodland 2005-2006

Mike Matthews 2007-2010

Jim Broussard, Jr. 2011

J. Glenn Cummings 2012-2013

Judith Linsley

John Ayres

Steven Lewis 

bottom of page